5 Reasons Why Writing Fiction is my Favorite Thing in the World

I love writing fiction. It’s the first thing I remember loving. Since I was three years old, making picture books was my favorite hobby. The picture books soon evolved into stories with a sentence per picture, gradually gaining more words and losing the crayon art, and eventually turned to writing novels. Of course, the content I write about has drastically changed, the love remains.

1. Writing is therapeutic. 

I have a lot of anxieties, an overactive imagination, intrusive thoughts, and terrible insomnia. Writing keeps my mind focused on one topic and helps me forget about all my worries. I generally write at night since that’s one of the few times I’m free from work, school, and other life distractions, and also because my thoughts become the most intrusive when I want to sleep. Most of my writing gets done between midnight-3 a.m. because it helps me relax so I can eventually get a few hours of sleep. Throughout the day, thinking about storyboards and potential plots also helps keep my mind away from troublesome thoughts. Yes, this does lead to a ton of daydreaming and makes me overly involved in my made-up world, but it’s better that than worrying about irrational fears and scenarios.

2. Writing is helpful to others

We’ve all heard this famous piece of advice from published authors: “To be a writer, you must read books.” Naturally, I love to read books when I’m not writing. Along with writing my own books, I find comfort in involving myself in other writers’ stories. The best compliment I ever receive from my readers is when they tell me that my books gave them comfort from their life struggles. Knowing that my stories are not only therapeutic for me, but also my readers, means a lot to me. If I can temporarily comfort a reader by bringing them into my little fantasy world, I have done my job.

3. My characters teach me valuable lessons…or is it just me all along?

One of my favorite things about writing fiction is creating characters. It’s fun to get into their minds and think of how they would act in certain scenarios. Learning to think from other perspectives taught me to respect and understand other people’s thoughts in the real world and to always step back and think in their perspective, especially during debates or arguments.

My characters never fail to impress me. I love when they are able to forgive those who have wronged them, accept their losses, overcome grief, stand up for their beliefs – and inspire me to do the same. The events I write about help me cope with my own life struggles, which is really awesome, but the most awesome part is that I created these characters. Their thoughts are my thoughts. Everything I learn from my characters, I’m really just teaching myself on a subconscious level.

4. Writing boosts confidence

Nothing feels better than finishing a well-written chapter or scene. I love looking over my writing and thinking, “Wow, I can’t believe I wrote something so cool!” (Especially since I’m very hard on myself when it comes to writing.) Even if it’s something that I know most of my readers won’t get to see for a while, like a chapter of a new book I’m working on, the self-satisfaction is enough to boost my confidence in my writing and overall make me more confident in myself as a person.

5. Writing makes my readers (and me!) feel all kinds of emotions

As a psychology major, I am fascinated by the range of emotions the human mind can register. I believe all emotions are equally important to experience because they help us understand our thoughts. In my stories, I hope to give my readers a taste of all the major emotions. I want them to laugh, cry, feel angry, scared, and disgusted. A story becomes far more memorable when the reader is able to connect with it on an emotional level. It also means the readers care more about my story and characters if they are able to feel sad when a character dies or angry when the antagonist threatens to hurt them. I care about my characters as if they were my own children – because they technically are in my mind  – and it makes me really happy when I can share my love for them with others.

Now it’s your turn to tell ME why you enjoy writing! Please comment below~

5 thoughts on “5 Reasons Why Writing Fiction is my Favorite Thing in the World

  1. I agree, simple as that. I like writing stories in my spare time. I always had that is why I am going to college for Professional Writing to get a better understanding of this sort of thing and to further my knowledge on the subjects. I might get nervous when sharing my stories, but hearing good feedback is always a good confidence booster. For number 3, it is not just you as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I often get a little nervous when sharing my stories, too. Especially ones I’ve worked on for longer, like novels. It’s always harder for me to share my writing with my close friends than strangers. That’s great that you are going to college for professional writing! I plan on taking a few creative writing classes in the near future at my college, and I’m really looking forward to the lessons and skills I will learn.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am the same way when it comes to my series that I have been working on for a long time. But although I never get comments on any of my stories on deviantart and wattpad, it still boosts my confidence when I post my stories there. The same for my blog too. Little steps can always go a long way.

        Like

  2. I used to have a wattpad, but I deleted it about a year ago. I faced similar issues since I found it pretty hard to promote my writing. I felt a lot of people on wattpad were more concerned with getting “views” and “likes” on their stories than actually reading and giving feedback for each other’s writing .__. However, when people were actually dedicated to following my writing, it gave a good confidence boost! I might remake an account and post some stuff in the future, but I want to focus on my blog now since it’s brand new. I’m hoping I can get comfortable and stick with it, since I don’t do much with my other pages (tumblr, twitter, DA). So far, I really like the wordpress format! The little steps are very important and I’m sure I will slowly rebuild on all the blogs and pages I started. I’m glad deviantart and wattpad are confidence boosters for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wattpad not so much, chapter 1 45 hits, all the others less then 3. Chapter 1 has been up since December, and I only started it doing weekly there. I do see a lot of problems with wattpad, namely the fact that it is either a huge success or major fail. Deviantart, well it is more of an art site, but I get more views there in a day then i have total on wattpad, even though the story on wattpad is an updated and more refined version on deviantart. But still, without doing my stories there I probably would not be trying to put any of my work out there more online. At least here for my blog, the last week it has been going great, I have been getting comments like crazy. It defiantly takes time here, but once that moment happens comments and feedback can come fairly quickly.

      Like

Leave a Reply

