Spring Conventions and Cosplay! part 1: Emerald City Comicon

Hey, everyone! Long time, no post! I’ve been SUPER busy with my convention going (see previous blog post), but now the spring con season has come to an end.

To recap, Emerald City Comicon (eccc) was at the very end of March, and Sakura-con was this past weekend. I will split the posts into two blogs, starting with eccc. I wanted to make this eccc post last week, but I was very busy with school and work. I will post my Sakura-con blog by the end of this week, so stay tuned!

EMERALD CITY COMICON

…It was nuts! SO. MANY. PEOPLE. I worked on staff for half the day with programming. My job was to hang out in the big panel room, make sure the attendees are civilized in finding seats, asking appropriate questions to the guests, answering basic schedule info quesitons, etc….oh, and getting to watch the biggest stars hold panels! 😉 Now, I will admit, I don’t really watch that much TV, so I didn’t really know who most of the guests were, but they must have been really important people if hundreds of people backed a huge room just to see them! We had guests from shows like Supernatural, Doctor Who, Stargate SG-1, Sanctuary, Lost Girl, and the one show I actually DO watch and love – THE WALKING DEAD!

20150329_130236

Yup, that’s Scott Wilson, who plays Hershel on The Walking Dead. Steven Yeun (actor of Glen) was also at the con, but he sadly did not do any panels.

OH, and did I mention that the legendary STAN LEE was at eccc?

20150329_111403

It was like a rock concert in his panel. People screaming and cheering, rushing to find seats, packing the room. It was definitely the most memorable panel I have attended and I was so grateful to be given the opportunity to work at it.

However, I was most excited to see Veronica Taylor, who plays the voice of Ash from the original Pokemon anime series.

20150328_150205

Here is Veronica with her daughter (right).

I was even lucky enough to snag an autograph from her, signed to me and my big sis, on our cover for the very first Pokemon VHS.

11008545_10200206111473231_8016923631236051049_n

And now, for my cosplays!

FRIDAY: Ramona Flowers and my boyfriend Keegan as Scott Pilgrim from Scott Pilgrim comics

11075032_10200207489387678_3086051111621756992_n 11102616_10200207489947692_8339878477680793605_n

Nothing too complex here. Both of our outfits were made from clothes we thrifted or already owned, but were still fun to wear! I highly recommend this for beginners, couples, and anyone on a budget or a time crunch!

SATURDAY: Yuna from Final Fantasy X-2

y2yYuna’s outfit was a bit more work to make. I altered a pre-made white tank top, sewed a white and pink lace trim to the bottom, and made the Zanarkand symbol out of this weirdly stiff ribbon. Hood made from scratch from soft pink fabric, Velcro attachments to be worn like a collar. The braid is just a long piece of cording from the home decor section of Joanns with a tassle tied to it, and it’s pinned to the bottom of the hood. The necklace and earrings were bought on ebay, and the shorts, belt, and purse from the thrift store. I made the arm bands from yellow satin, hammered in the little silver eyelets, and tied them off with skinny black ribbon. The skirt is made from blue glitter satin with a lace trim sewn on top. The fabric is lightweight and pretty, but isn’t light enough to make super flowy – it just looks pleated or gets kinda stiff if you try to make it all flowy-like, so I just made a few small pleats so it didn’t look totally pleated, but it didn’t just look like I sewed squares of fabric to each other. It wasn’t too hard to make, but it was my first time working with satin, which is VERY slippery….trick is to go verrrry slow and stick lots and lots of pins into the fabric before you sew it. Boots from Hot Topic (same boots I use in most of my pictured cosplays), laces from ebay. Guns were just plastic toys that I spray painted. Not too hard to make, but I do recommend it for someone who at least has basic sewing experience under their belt.

SATURDAY EVENING: Misa Amane from Death Note

20150328_22044820150328_220517

I own a lot of Goth clothing, so Misa is a very easy cosplay for me! The dress is from Dead Threads and was purchased at The Metro Clothing Co. The wig is actually my Fairy Tail Lucy wig (a cosplay you will see in my Sakura-con post). The only part I really “made” was the Death Note – a simple black notebook with the funky letters painted on. It’s a very simple cosplay for a Goth girl who already owns and wears this stuff frequently, but for a non-Goth, it can be a little pricey to just go out and buy Misa clothing and accessories. The dress alone was around $100.

SUNDAY: Junko Enoshima with my boyfriend as Makoto Naegi from Dangan Ronpa.

20150329_14431320150329_165201

Junko’s outfit is pretty simple, so I used mainly pre-made clothing to put it together. I altered a black button-up shirt to make her cardigan. I made it very fitted, swapped out the buttons, and used fabric paint to make the designs. I cut a black tie and a white tie, sewed them together, and made the symbol with red fabric paint. Naegi is also from thrifted clothing. I swapped out the original buttons and Keegan used red fabric paint to Naegi-ify the hoodie, which I hot glued a zipper to.

We also did Junko and Naegi for Sakura-con Saturday evening, so you will have to check out my Sakura-con post to see more! (To be posted by the end of this week!)

But enough about me! Here are some general cosplay photos I took. Sadly, I did not take very many since I was pretty busy with volunteer work.

10401958_10200207485827589_4738625051598687608_n20150328_17175210984461_10200207486547607_3010544881601560318_n20150328_15561920150329_135958

Thanks for reading about my cosplays and experiences at Emerald City Comicon! Please stay tuned for my Sakura-con post this week! In the meantime, do you have any questions about cosplay making? Were you at eccc and have a cool story to share? Comment below! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Spring Conventions and Cosplay! part 1: Emerald City Comicon

      1. Japantag is the greatest Anime/Japan-convention in germany and maybe in europe and GamesCom is the greatest Game-Convention in europe 🙂 they are really cool … 23 days till Japantag *-* waited for one year … best day of the year!
        Maybe u can google it

        Like

Leave a Reply

