Spring Conventions and Cosplay! part 2: Sakura-con 2015

Welcome back for more convention rants! In my previous post, I ranted about Emerald City Comicon and posted some cosplay photos. This rant will be very similar, but is dedicated to my favorite convention: Sakura-con.

Though I have been attending since 2007, this was my first year going as a press member, as my boyfriend Keegan and I were co-writing an article for our newspaper.  We were able to interview Vic Mignogna (voice of Edward Elric in Fullmetal Alchemist, Tamaki Suoh in Ouran High School Host Club), Bryce Papenbrook (voice of Kirito in Sword Art Online, Eren Jaeger in Attack on Titan), and Hiromi Kato (director of Death Note, Tsubasa). Please check out our article here!: http://www.dailyuw.com/arts_and_leisure/article_657c02f6-ddac-11e4-af9d-4bcbfc27cd9e.html

Along with interviews, we also got to check out some cool panels held by voice actors, party at the concerts and dances, and spent way more money than we should have at the vendor’s hall.

And, of course, we cosplayed.

DAY 0: Misa Amane (Death Note)

0020117292_10200224437451369_3689644295423657205_n

Since I did her popular anime outfit for Emerald City Comicon, I decided to do her outfit from the cover of manga volume 4 for Sakura-con day 0 (badge pickup and casual photo shoot day, no actual con-run activities). As I said in my last post, I used my wig for Lucy from Fairy Tail. The top is a basic black tank top – I hot glued on the zippers. The rest is made up from clothing and accessories I already owned, purchased from Hot Topic, Spencer’s, and thrifting. I unfortunately was unable to make the blades on the gloves due to lack of time :/

DAY 1: Shiemi Moriyama with Keegan as Yukio Okumura (Blue Exorcist)

11045408_885199768198400_1543226705565598823_n 1471107_885200678198309_718686480043899717_n (1)20150403_164444 11137117_885200278198349_2187641506499364393_n Shiemi and Yukio were both made from mainly thrifted and pre-owned clothing. I made my bow from black fabric, hot glued ribbon to make stripes, and sewed a pin to the back to wear it like a big brooch. I made Yukio’s tie similarly, but from a pre-existing black tie. The black coat was bought at Goodwill, and I replaced the original buttons. I found Yukio’s pin (not shown in any of the pictures) on eBay for pretty cheap. I used fabric pain to make the little symbol. I handmade Nii-chan (the little plush) from green fleece. All the details are just scraps of leftover fabric from past projects. I made him back in the summer, only took a few hours to make – benefits of being sick after a con, I guess :/ The guns are the same ones I used for my Yuna cosplay, only they’re spray painted black.

DAY 2: Sakura Kinomoto (Cardcaptor Sakura)

20150404_130925 20150404_131634

Just an FYI, I’m the one in the white with the star wand. I didn’t really do much work on the actual cosplay. I bought it on eBay and had it slightly altered to fit better. The Kero plush is actually a backpack, purchased at my local anime store. I did, however, make the wand from scratch with Keegan. I did all the painting, he did the crafting. The stick is wood, painted pink. The circle is a knitting hoop, also painted pink. The little wings are felt, hot glued to the circle. Keegan made the star from paperclay, along with the circular connecting part and the little bottom piece, then I painted them. Paperclay is super sturdy once it dries – I highly recommend it for cosplay crafting. It air dries to be rock hard, so you can use it to fuse any materials together without worrying about them melting in an oven.

***In the evening of Day 2, I was Junko Enoshima and Keegan was Makoto Naegi from Dangan Ronpa. However, my photographer is currently working on editing photos from Sakura-con, so I will upload those at a later time! He also has some of me in my Sakura cosplay. Stay tuned~~~!***

DAY 3: Lucy Heartfilia (Fairy Tail)

20150405_171343 20150405_171738 20150405_171256

For the final day, I was Lucy. Pretty simple cosplay, but fun and comfortable for the last day of an exhausting weekend. I originally planned to make the cosplay from scratch, but I found it on eBay for really cheap, so I figured it’d be more economical to just buy it. I bought the keys separately at my local anime store and I got the whip at Value Village around Halloween. I had Keegan draw my tattoo on my hand with a pink highlighter – it stayed on really well, but I don’t think it’s really visible in these pictures due to the distance and lighting. The Happy is a huge plush backpack I bought from my friend.

And so you have it! My spring conventions and cosplays! Stay tuned for pictures from my private photo shoots! 🙂 In the meantime, I am already planning my next cosplays….updates coming soon! If you have any questions about Sakura-con or my cosplays, or have a cool story about cons and cosplays that you’d like to share, please post a comment!

Leave a Reply

