Alt. Fashion post! Spooky in the Summer~

beach_sand_movies_sweeney_todd_2560x1600_wallpaperfo.com

It’s that time of the year again when the great fireball in the sky burns the strongest. It’s also that time when my Facebook is flooded with “how to be Goth in the summer!” blogs shared by my friends.

That being said, if you are looking for “how to be goth in the summer” articles to find ways to keep cool while wearing black, there are dozens of them out there. While I could write one, too, I feel it’d be a bit redundant since so many other bloggers have done the job.

Instead, I would like to share with you some of my personal favorite outfit pieces and tips to give you some specific ideas on what could be fun to wear in the summer months. As there are many different subgenres of goth, I tried to find clothing that could be used for all or most kinds. This article is catered towards feminine fashion since I am a female and like girly clothing. I don’t mean to single anyone out.

TOPS

What better to wear in the summer than tank tops? You can simply wear a black tank top and goth it up with accessories – accessories can add personality to a plain black outfit. I like adding silver skulls, ankhs, and crosses to mine. If you get warm easily, avoid tight chokers and leather.

If you’re looking for something more girly, find one with lace or bows. You can easily find solid colored tank tops literally anywhere that sells clothes, and usually for a pretty cheap price.

Here are two tank tops that I really like for summer. The left is from Dead Threads and the right is from Tripp (corset is just for looks, not functional).

20150510_124705

Too frilly for you? If lace and ribbons aren’t your thing, you can modify a solid tank top to suit your liking. On the right, I got a solid black tank top and hot glued zippers I bought from my local craft store. On the left I have a crop top with crosses from About a Girl. It’s almost 3/4 sleeves, but it’s super lightweight, making it perfect for hot weather.

20150515_133704

Summer is also a great time for flowy materials since they don’t stick to your skin. This flowy shawl-cardigan-thing looks great over tank tops. Not only is it light, but the back has a lace panel. The brand is BCX and I think it’s from either Target or Macy’s. . .some really big store.

20150515_134107 (1)

Fishnet tops can also be great summer pieces, but this can depend on its material. A lighter mesh or large netting will work best.

BOTTOMS

Again, plain black shorts and skirts will work. I’ve seen a lot of long, flowy black skirts in stores lately, many of which could be used for an awesome summer outfit. I personally prefer shorter skirts, and summer is a great time for them. Pictured below is my favorite skirt that I own. It’s from Queen of Darkness. I tend to wear it all year round (unless it’s snowing), but unless I wear thick leggings underneath, I tend to freeze my butt off. It’s just a thin satiny skirt with spiderweb lace on top.

20150515_133850

The rockabilly look is a great style to try out in the summer. Hell Bunny sells lots of big, flowy, 50s styles dresses with spooky prints, like skulls, zombie unicorns and bats (again, if solids are your thing, solid black dresses of most styles can be gothified). Dead Threads also sells some fun rockabilly clothing and has a great selection of shorts. Below is a pair of Dead Threads shorts, paired with my favorite pair of matching sunglasses from a gift shop called Poison Apple.

20150515_133933

SHOES

Most of my wardrobe is miniskirts and t-shirts, so I usually survive the summer without much difficulty. However….I love wearing big chunky boots and Creepers. Both are quite uncomfortable in the summer since they don’t let your feet breathe. I usually wear my creepers anyways and let my feet suffer through the heat, but I don’t think that is the best advice to give to you.

For starters, if you absolutely must wear boots, try to find a pair that are a lower-cut to allow your legs to breath.

gb

Naturally, sandals are the most popular summer shoes. I used to be really against sandals until recently. I never saw ones I liked until I actively looked for a cool pair, and I ended up finding quite a few that I liked.

I actually own the pair below. I found them at a thrift store and they are very comfortable. They may not be my favorite Creepers, but they still got platforms, so I can’t argue too much.

gs2

I don’t own the pair below in black (I have clear glitter), but jelly sandals have become popular again, seemingly among everyone in my town. I got mine on Amazon for under $20. . .and I would not pay any more than that. They are super cute, but SO painful. They are made from rock hard plastic and will hurt your feet after 30 seconds. Buy some sort of padding inserts. You will need them. Trust me.

gs3

This last pair I have featured , I do not own, but I saw in a thrift store and managed to find a picture of them on google. If you’re not into the more childish jelly sandals, these have cool straps with silver rings that could go well with any style.

gs

Last but not least. . . WEAR SUNSCREEN!! And remember to reapply it! I already fried my skin within the first week of my summer break :/ Black parasols also come in handy and look downright awesome. And don’t forget to protect your eyes with sunglasses!

Do you have any tips or cool summer outfits you’d like to share? Comment below! Keep cool this season~

7 thoughts on “Alt. Fashion post! Spooky in the Summer~

  1. Nice post! My plan for this summer is to sew a bunch of sheer dresses and skirts. I have only one chiffon dress but I wear it all the time because it’s sooo comfy.

    I’m glad you mentioned that jelly sandals are uncomfortable. I’ve seen so many people wearing them that I was tempted to get a pair of my own but I’m a big baby when it comes to tearing up my feet!

    Like

    1. Thanks! Sounds like you have some great ideas for summer clothing! 🙂

      I heard that jelly sandals caused blisters, but I thought I could handle it…I put in TWO cushioning pads to make them manageable. My black platform sandals that I have featured are jelly-ish, but they come with padding in them and are actually very comfortable, especially compared to the standard jelly sandals.

      Like

  2. Nice post! I also love Jelly shoes and last year had the glitter heeled pair which ripped my feet to shreds in 2 hours so I then wore them with frilly or gingham socks. However this year I got the flat black jelly shoes and they are so comfortable! Dont know wether its the heel or the glitter but they are great when they are comfortable!

    Like

    1. Yeah, that’s the pair that I have! I couldn’t wear them without socks :< which was ok since they look cute with frilly socks and I actually hate being barefoot, but it was not ideal for 90 degree weather :/ I never wore the flat style, but I have a feeling it's the heel that makes it hurt.

      Like

Leave a Reply

